Comparison
Mint Mobile vs US Mobile
Mint is the simpler, cheaper-up-front T-Mobile option. US Mobile costs a little more on paper but includes taxes, lets you pick among three networks, and sells priority data.
For most single-line users who want unlimited data on T-Mobile and do not mind paying a year up front, Mint Mobile is cheaper: $30 a month on its 12-month Unlimited plan. US Mobile wins if you want taxes included, a choice of network, or priority data. Its Unlimited Starter annual plan works out to $22.50 a month with taxes and fees included (prices checked Oct 30, 2026).
This comparison uses each carrier's own plan pages and help centers, checked on October 30, 2026. Where a carrier does not publish a detail, we say so rather than guess. We have not used either service ourselves.
Plan prices compared
The two carriers price differently. Mint sells 3-, 6- and 12-month plans paid up front, with lower monthly equivalents for longer terms. US Mobile sells monthly or annual plans, plus promotions for new lines.
| Plan | Monthly equivalent | Paid as | Taxes and fees |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mint Unlimited, 12 months | $30/mo | $360 up front | Extra |
| Mint Unlimited, 6 months | $35/mo | $210 up front | Extra |
| Mint Unlimited, 3 months (new-customer intro) | $30/mo, then $40/mo regular | $90 up front | Extra |
| US Mobile Unlimited Flex (annual only) | $17.50/mo | $210 a year | Included |
| US Mobile Unlimited Starter | $25/mo monthly, or $22.50/mo annual | Monthly, or $270 a year | Included |
| US Mobile Unlimited Premium | $44/mo monthly, or $32.50/mo annual | Monthly, or $390 a year | Included |
Mint's smaller plans
Mint also sells capped plans. On a 12-month term, its plans page lists 5GB at $15/mo ($180), 15GB at $20/mo ($240) and 20GB at $25/mo ($300). New customers can get 3-month intro prices of $15, $20 and $25 for those tiers, after which Mint's regular 3-month prices are $25, $35 and $45.
Current US Mobile promotions
US Mobile's plans page currently shows Unlimited Premium at $25/mo and Starter at $15/mo for six months. Those deals are for port-ins only, with AutoPay, limited to five per household. They renew at $44 and $25. Its unlimited sign-up page also lists first-year annual prices of $299 for Premium and $199 for Starter.
Promotions change often. Compare the regular renewal price, since that is what you will pay from the second term on.
The tax difference
US Mobile states that taxes and fees are included in its plan prices. Mint's plans page says taxes and fees are extra, and its plan labels list a Recovery Fee of $1.54 to $2.58, small federal fees, and government taxes that vary by location. That gap narrows Mint's price lead. Our explainer on taxes-included vs. taxes-extra plans shows how to compare them.
What a year actually costs
Monthly equivalents hide how the money leaves your account. Here is what each option costs over 12 months at regular prices, using only the figures on each carrier's pages (checked Oct 30, 2026).
- Mint Unlimited, 12-month plan: $360 up front, plus taxes and fees.
- Mint Unlimited, two 6-month plans: 2 x $210 = $420, plus taxes and fees.
- US Mobile Starter, annual: $270, taxes and fees included.
- US Mobile Starter, monthly: 12 x $25 = $300, taxes and fees included.
- US Mobile Premium, annual: $390, taxes and fees included.
At regular prices, US Mobile Starter on an annual plan costs less than Mint's 12-month Unlimited before Mint's taxes are even added. Mint's advantage shows up in its new-customer offers and in its capped plans: 15GB for $240 a year is cheaper than any US Mobile unlimited plan if you use little data.
The comparison flips again if you need Starter's full speed on Warp or Light Speed. US Mobile caps Starter's high-speed data at 70GB on those two networks, while Dark Star has no stated cap. For a heavy user on T-Mobile, Mint's soft 50GB busy-network threshold and US Mobile's 70GB Starter cap are close enough that coverage should decide.
Paying up front
Mint requires the whole term up front, whether 3, 6 or 12 months. Mint's help center says auto renewal charges the card you bought the plan with, and it sends a text and email 30 days before renewal. US Mobile lets you pay monthly, which suits anyone who would rather not tie up $270 to $390 at once.
Networks and coverage
This is the biggest structural difference between the two.
Mint: T-Mobile only
Mint's help center says it "runs on the T-Mobile network." If T-Mobile is strong where you live and work, that is no drawback. If it is weak, Mint will be weak too.
US Mobile: three networks, one account
US Mobile offers three networks under its own names: Warp, Dark Star and Light Speed. Its own pages do not name the carriers behind them, but its APN settings use Verizon and AT&T identifiers for Warp and Dark Star. Droid Life's October 2026 review identifies them as Verizon (Warp), AT&T (Dark Star) and T-Mobile (Light Speed).
You can move a line between networks. US Mobile says the first two network transfers are free, then $2 each, and transfers are free on Unlimited Premium. It also sells a Multi-Network add-on that puts two or three networks on one device, priced at $10/mo per line or $90/yr on an annual plan on its plans page.
For a deeper look at the Verizon and AT&T options, see our comparison of US Mobile Warp vs. Dark Star.
Priority data, throttling and video
| Feature | Mint Unlimited | US Mobile Starter | US Mobile Premium |
|---|---|---|---|
| High-speed data | Unlimited, but may slow past 50GB when busy | Unlimited on Dark Star; 70GB on Warp and Light Speed | Unlimited |
| Data priority | Not offered as a feature | Standard | High |
| Hotspot | Up to 20GB | 20GB | 100GB high-speed, then 100GB at 8 Mbps, then 600 Kbps (unlimited on Dark Star, per plans page) |
| Video | About 480p | Not stated on pages checked | Not stated on pages checked |
Mint's plans page says unlimited customers who use over 50GB in a month may notice reduced speeds for the rest of the cycle in certain locations when the network is busy. It does not publish a priority tier you can buy.
US Mobile labels Starter's data priority as "standard" and Premium's as "high." On its Unlimited Flex plan, which has 10GB of high-speed data and 5GB of hotspot, high priority is available to buy. If you often use your phone in crowded places like stadiums or transit hubs, priority data is the feature that matters most.
International calling and roaming
Mint
Mint includes free calling from the U.S. to Mexico, Canada and the UK, and free texting to more than 190 destinations. For roaming, its international roaming page lists these Minternational passes:
- 1 day: $5, with 1GB of high-speed data, 60 minutes and 60 texts
- 3 days: $10, with 3GB, 200 minutes and 200 texts
- 10 days: $20, with 10GB, 500 minutes and 500 texts
- 30-day talk and text only: $5, with 100 minutes and 100 texts
Mint's roaming page also says customers get free unlimited talk and text plus 3GB of high-speed data while visiting Canada. It does not describe an equivalent for Mexico on that page.
US Mobile
US Mobile builds roaming into its top plan. Its help center lists 20GB of roaming data, 200 minutes and 250 texts per month on Unlimited Premium. Starter on an annual plan includes 1GB, 200 minutes and 250 texts, and monthly Starter customers can buy roaming. US Mobile's network page lists roaming in 180+ countries on Light Speed and 125+ on Warp, so coverage abroad depends on the network you pick.
For frequent travelers, US Mobile Premium is the stronger package. For an occasional trip, Mint's passes are simple and cheap.
Family and multi-line options
Neither carrier offers a classic family plan where the per-line price falls with each line added, based on the pages we checked.
Mint Family lets one primary account holder manage 2 to 5 lines. Each member picks their own plan and term, and members share savings, not data. The primary account holder pays for everything, and auto renewal must be on. Mint's help page does not list a specific multi-line discount.
US Mobile sells each line at the same plan price, so a family pays per line. Its By the Gig plans let several lines share one data pool instead. We did not find a published multi-line discount on US Mobile's plan or help pages checked on Oct 30, 2026.
For two to four lines, add up the per-line price on each carrier and include taxes for Mint. US Mobile's included taxes can matter more with every line you add.
Which one should you choose?
| Choose Mint if you | Choose US Mobile if you |
|---|---|
| Have good T-Mobile coverage and want the lowest price on a year of unlimited | Have weak T-Mobile coverage, or want to switch networks later |
| Are fine paying 3 to 12 months up front | Want to pay monthly without a big price penalty |
| Need only 5GB to 20GB a month | Want priority data or a large hotspot allowance |
| Call Mexico, Canada or the UK often | Travel abroad often and want roaming data included |
| Can accept about 480p video | Want taxes and fees included in the price |
On documented facts, Mint is the better value for a single, light-to-moderate user on T-Mobile who buys a year at a time. US Mobile is the better product for heavier users, travelers, and anyone who needs Verizon or AT&T coverage.
Frequently asked questions
Is Mint Mobile cheaper than US Mobile?
On sticker price, usually yes. Mint Unlimited is $30/mo on a 12-month plan, while US Mobile Starter is $22.50/mo annually or $25 monthly. But Mint adds taxes and fees, and US Mobile includes them, so compare your total in your state.
What network does US Mobile use?
Three, under its own names. Third-party reporting such as Droid Life identifies Warp as Verizon, Dark Star as AT&T and Light Speed as T-Mobile. Mint uses T-Mobile only.
Does Mint Mobile have priority data?
Mint does not sell a priority data tier. Its plans page says unlimited users who pass 50GB in a month may see reduced speeds when the network is busy. US Mobile Unlimited Premium includes high-priority data.
How much hotspot do Mint and US Mobile include?
Mint Unlimited includes up to 20GB. US Mobile Starter includes 20GB, and Premium includes 100GB at high speed, then 100GB at 8 Mbps. US Mobile's plans page lists unlimited hotspot on Dark Star for Premium.
Are taxes included with Mint Mobile?
No. Mint's plans page says taxes and fees are extra and lists fees such as a Recovery Fee of $1.54 to $2.58. US Mobile states that its plan prices include taxes and fees.
Which is better for international travel?
US Mobile Unlimited Premium includes 20GB of roaming data, 200 minutes and 250 texts a month. Mint sells passes from $5 a day and includes 3GB of data plus unlimited talk and text in Canada.
Sources
- Plans — Mint Mobile
- What network is Mint Mobile on? — Mint Mobile
- International Rates — Mint Mobile
- International Roaming — Mint Mobile
- How do I set up and manage auto renewal? — Mint Mobile
- How do I create a Mint Family? — Mint Mobile
- Plans — US Mobile
- Get Started: Unlimited — US Mobile
- Unlimited data plans — US Mobile Help Center
- By-the-gig plans — US Mobile Help Center
- Networks — US Mobile
- List of APN settings — US Mobile Help Center
- US Mobile review — Droid Life
This article contains no affiliate or sponsored links.